Brecon Beacons National Park


Brecon Beacons National Park was designated in 1957. The remit of our work is set out in our Statutory Purposes and Statutory Duty.  In summary these are

  •  to protect the natural beauty of the Park;
  •  to help visitors enjoy and understand it; and
  • to foster the wellbeing of local people.

We have a clear vision for the National Park for the next 20 years laid out in the National Park Management Plan.  This sets the scene for all our strategic documents.


What is a National Park?

The Brecon Beacons is one of a family 14 of National Parks in Britain.  The Brecon Beacons National Park is a ‘Category Five Protected Landscape Area’.  This means that the landscape of our National Park is a ‘protected area’ as defined by International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN).  There are six protected area management categories in all.  These categories cover all the different types of protected area throughout the world.   ‘Category five’ means a protected area managed mainly for landscape conservation and recreation.   In practice this means that we are a ‘living landscape’ or a ‘cultural landscape’.  We are a place where people live and work.  The landscapes remain largely in the hands of the farmers and landowners who have shaped the countryside for generations.  Unlike our family members in the US and elsewhere, we are not a wilderness, there is no entrance gate or entry fee.